Celebrating the women and girls in my life

It is International Women’s Day today and in my life I am surrounded by women and girls.  In our house it is just me and the plants and the occasional stuffed animal that identify as male.  I’m not actually sure if the plants are on my side since I only have grade ten science and we didn’t really get into plant sex.  On the mammal scorecard there are 5 females and one male (me) in the house. Granted, one of the females is a cat.

I am married to an intelligent, creative, supportive – not to mention beautiful woman.  She comes from a long line of women with similar characteristics.  I had the opportunity to get to know both of her grandmothers and have heard many stories about her GG. My wife’s mother raised three great adults and influenced  hundreds and perhaps thousands more in her life as a teacher.

My own mother is also a retired teacher who influenced thousands of students in her career not to mention my brother and I. I think we’ve turned out ok.  My grandmothers both immigrated to Canada, one with an 18 month old who turned out to be my mother.  She left her sisters behind in England and came to Canada on a ship to meet her husband who had come over earlier to find work.  I wouldn’t be here without the courage of my grandmothers (and grandfathers).

We are continuing this line of incredible women with three daughters of our own.  They will achieve much in their lives and already amaze me with everything they can already do and already know.

I look forward to future IWDs with hope and optimism.  I am excited to see the lives they will lead and the change they will make in the world.

 

About DadGoesRound
I am a Canadian father of three girls and blog about Fatherhood, Kids and Current Affairs at www.dadgoesround.com

One Response to Celebrating the women and girls in my life

  1. Pingback: Greatest Hits | Dad Goes Round

Leave a Reply

