Lest We Forget

Poppies-774775

Today is Remembrance Day.  Today we pause our busy lives and we remember those who fought the wars and the peace to give us the countries and lives we have today.

Today I remember my grandfather who served in the British Merchant Marine, my grandmother who lived in London throughout WWII and survived the Blitz.  I remember my aunts and uncles and cousins who lived through the war in Britain.  I remember my uncles who went down with their ships.  I remember the Canadians who fought to defend my country and our rights and freedoms.  I remember the soldiers of all countries who fought for their countries. I remember the sacrifices made by current soldiers and especially their families.

Most of all I remember how important it is that we remember and that we teach our children about the horrors of war.  I remember how important and precious peace is and our responsibility to protect those who do have the luxury of peace.

In Flanders fields the poppies grow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved and were loved, and now we lie
In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
The torch; be yours to hold it high.
If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields.

– Col. John McCrae

About DadGoesRound
I am a Canadian father of three girls and blog about Fatherhood, Kids and Current Affairs at www.dadgoesround.com

Leave a Reply

