Memory

It is interesting how memory works.  Sometimes memories are powerful and pop-up at unexpected times.  Sometimes they come unbidden and other times more consciously on specific dates.  Sometimes we just forget.  In this particular case, I forgot.

Twenty-two years ago yesterday I became a father for the first time.  Until Laura reminded me last night, I had forgotten that it was June 5th and the significance of that date in my life.  It’s not like I really forgot my kids birthday.  Thomas and Jennifer (no longer their first names) are genetically my kids, but I haven’t seen them since they were 10 days old.  I was a teenager and my girlfriend at the time and I decided to place them for adoption. I’ve written and spoken about the whole experience many times in the past and I am not going to repeat it here.  If you are interested in the story, you can listen to the radio interview I did on the subject here: (www.cbc.ca/thecurrent/episode/2012/02/09/the-boy-with-the-past-documentary)

So June 5th is a memory marker for me.  It is fading with time.  I think that happens when you find peace with your memories.

About DadGoesRound
I am a Canadian father of three girls and blog about Fatherhood, Kids and Current Affairs at www.dadgoesround.com

Leave a Reply

